Tightened Crosshairs: The Green Lantern Review

Every summer there are good movies and there are some okay movies. Sadly, I’m going to have to stick Green Lantern in the latter category. A spoiler-filled review will begin following the movie poster.

Hannibal King/Deadpool is Hal Jordan? Oh, it's DC, so that makes sense.

“In brightest day, in blackest night, no evil shall escape my sight. Let those who worship evil’s might beware my power, Green Lantern’s light!”

I quote the recitation of the Green Lantern oath simply because that was one of the good moments of the movie. Really, there weren’t any bad moments. I do want to say that, because my less-than-glowing opening statement might lead you to believe that the movie was bad. It wasn’t bad. It was… boring. I feel like everything that happened could have happened in a much more engaging way.

Ryan Reynolds played a good character, although he would never have been my first pick for Hal Jordan. I could see him as a Kyle Rayner, but a Hal Jordan? But eh, that’s all right. Also, Blake Lively, who I don’t think I’ve ever seen in anything else, once again was slightly boring. I don’t know if they read anything in the comics to study up for their parts, but Carol Ferris is a much more engaging woman than Blake Lively was. Perhaps the director meant her as the audience’s portal, having Hal dump plenty of info that we already knew on her. Hector Hammond as a character was one of the more interesting characters, which is sad because he didn’t do a whole lot for me. Mark Strong’s Sinestro was an emotionless wall, and I can’t tell whether that was intentional or not. Still, this is a blanket statement, but I can’t tell if it was the actors or the script. I’ve read a lot of comics by Marc Guggenheim (the man who wrote the script), and the truth of the matter is that he just isn’t my cup of tea. I just can’t get into his characters very well, whether it’s his Justice Society of America, his shameless plugs for his TV shows in his Amazing Spider-Man arcs, or his Jackpot mini-series. It may not have been the actors’ faults at all.

The movie was very, very CGI-heavy. There were scenes on Oa where they could have used a little more work or time to get it done right, but after the millions they’ve already poured into it, it is what it is. Kilowog in particular bugged me a bit, but that may have been based on his voice actor, whoever he was. I loved the Green Lantern Corps Easter eggs that they showed us in the few scenes with the Corps (Bzzd! Hannu! Was that Isamot Kol?).

The internet tells me that there’ll be plenty of people using Green Lantern  for a drinking game, taking a drink every time someone says “fear” or “will.” I can imagine that they wouldn’t make it to the credits.

The fact of the matter is that the post-credits scene was the most engaging scene of the movie. It promised more, even if we don’t get all the way to a sequel. I won’t say here, but I think for anyone who knows anything out of the comics, the knowledge of what happens in the movie will lead you to the conclusion that what happens is the only thing the post-credits scene could be. Cryptic, I know, but I have to leave something for the theater, right?

I think the fact that this is all I really have to say about the movie is telling, though. It was slow. It was exposition-heavy. Plus, if it was that easy to defeat Parallax, why hadn’t someone done it yet? Ah well.

My advice? Wait for the DVD.

2 responses to “Tightened Crosshairs: The Green Lantern Review

  1. The mythology is nonsensical and the plot takes forever to get going. But once it does, the movie takes advantage of a strong cast and a director who knows what he’s doing. Good Review! Check out mine when you can!

  2. Nice review, good point about how easy it was to defeat Parallax. I think Parallax realised how bad the movie was and then just destroyed itself.

Leave a Reply

