Well dang, Flashpoint got me good.

EDIT: Okay, so half of this is irrelevant by now. Still, I’m leaving it here for the sake of being an honest reaction from the moment that it happened, and you’ll get some in-depth thinking about it from me when DC’s solicitations are announced next week.

I was wrong. I stuck my foot in my mouth last night, and damn, was I wrong. Yeah, that’s right. I’m flabbergasted. I’m shocked. I’m… yeah, I’m kinda confused as hell. Come September, EVERY DC comic book will start again at #1. Every. Single. One. So while I’m here, I’m going to share with you everything that Bleeding Cool has kindly gathered for us. This includes the following:

Adventure Comics #1 starring Deadman

Justice League #1 by Geoff Johns and Jim Lee, featuring Superman, Wonder Woman, and Batman for the first time in years

We don’t know for sure if this is a total reboot of the universe’s continuity or not, and I still, STILL doubt that’s the case. But jeez, man. After my big post about them renumbering Captain America to #1 and just continuing the old book on like it’s nobody’s business, DC’s going ahead and giving a similar treatment (while canceling the old print runs) to all of its titles.

Keep an eye on this post. I’ll be periodically updating it with links to Bleeding Cool as Rich Johnston gets more information.

EDIT: Well… this is a bombshell. DC Comics will be launching day-and-date digital comics for all 52 #1 issues in September. My problem now is that, well, I just don’t know whether this is going to be where I buy even more DC comics or if it’s where I bow out of the DC Universe and start becoming  a heavy reader of trade paperbacks.

Leave a Reply

